Virginia Academy of Science Section Officers 2002-2003
Aeronautical and Aerospace Sciences Section
Chair: 
Jill C. Harper 
2040 Columbia Pike  Apt. 7 
Arlington, VA 22204
E-mail: jiharper@vt.edu 

Vice Chair: 
Katie A. Klein
315 Hancock   UVA
Charlottesville, VA 22904-2020
E-mail: kak6u@virginia.edu

Secretary: 
M. Leroy Spearman, NASA 
Langley Research Center 
Mail Stop 248, Hampton, VA 23681 
Phone 757-864-5226, 
Fax 757-864-6306 
E-mail: m.l.spearman@larc.nasa.gov 

Councilor: 
Fred H. Lutze, Jr., Dept. of 
Aerospace & Ocean Engineering 
Virginia Tech 
Blacksburg, VA 24061 
Phone 540-231-6409 
E-mail: flutze@aol.vt.edu


Agriculture, Forestry, and Aquaculture
Section Chair
Michael Schwarz
VSAREC
102 S. King Street
Hampton, Virginia 23669
 (757) 727-4861
(757)727-4871
mschwartz@vt.edu
2001-2002

Section Secretary
Ryan Cool
VSAREC
102 S. King Street
Hampton, Virginia 23669
(757) 727-4861
(757) 7274871
rcool@vt.edu
2001-2001

Section Council representative
Ali Mohamed
VSU, Dept of Biology
P.O. Box 9064
Petersburg, Virginia 23806
amohamed@vsu.edu

Section Editor
Virginia State University
P.O. Box 9081
Petersburg, Virginia 23806
(804) 524-5493
(804) 524-5245
snewton@vsu.edu
2001-2002


Astronomy Math & Physics
Section Secretary
Martin Buoncristiani
Dept. of Physics, Computer Science & Engineering
Christopher Newport University
1 University Place
Newport News, Virginia 23606
757-594-7192
757-594-7919
martinb@pcs.cnu.edu

Section Chair
Kerria Gioranetti
James Madison University, Physics
MSC 7702
Harrisonburg, Virginia 22807
540-568-6353
540-568-2800
giovankl@jmu.edu

Section Council Representative
John Hardie
Dept. of Physics, CS & Engineering
Christopher Newport University
Newport News, Virginia 23606
757-594-8876
757-594-7919
jhardie@pcs.cnu.edu
2002-2005

Section Editor
Donald A. Whitney
Graduate College
Hampton University
Hampton, Virginia 23668
757-727-5454
757-727-5832
donald.whitney@hamptone.edu
2002-2003


Biology
Section Chair
Harold Grau
Dept. of BCES 
Christopher Newport University
Newport News, Virginia 23606
(757) 594-7946
(757) 594-7209
hgrau@cnu.edu

Section Secretary
Matthew J. Beckman
VCU, Dept. of Bio-chemistry
1112 E. Clay Street, McGuire Annex
Richmond, Virginia 23233
(804) 628-0225
(804) 828-4454
mjbeckma@hsc.vcu.edu
2002-2003

Section Council Representative
Carolyn M. Conway
Dept. of Biology
Box 842012, VCU
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2012
(804) 827-0177
(804) 828-0503
Conway@saturn.vcu.edu

Section editor
Dept. of Biology
Randolph-Macon College
Ashland, Virginia 23055-5505
(804) 752-3720
(804) 752-7231
aconway@rmc.edu

Section Vice Chair
David A. DeWitt
Liberty University
1971 University BLVD
Lynchburg, Virginia 
(434) 582-2228
(434) 582-2488
dadewitt@liberty.edu
2002-2003



Biomedical & General Engineering
Section Chair
Jennifer S. Wayne PhD
Virginia Commonwealth University
P.O. Box 980694
Richmond, Virginia 23298
(804) 828- 2595
(804) 828-4454
jswayne@vcu.edu
2002-2003

Section Secretary
Paul A. Wetzel, Ph.D.
Virginia Commonwealth University
Department of Biomedical Engineering
P.O. Box 980694
Richmond, Virginia 23298
804-827-0487
804-828-4454
pawetzel@vcu.edu
2002-2003

Section Council Representative
Tom Haas, Ph.D.
VCU School of Engineering
601 W. Main Street
Richmond, Virginia 23284
804-828-4268
804-828-7017
2002-2005

Section Editor
Rosalyn Hobson, Ph.D. 
VCU School of Engineering
601 Main Street
Richmond, Virginia 23284
2002-1003

Section Chair
Gary Tepper
Virginia Commonwealth University
School of Engineering
601 West Main Street
Ri8chmond, Virginia 23284
gtepper@vcu.edu
2001-2002

Section Council Representative
Lisa Scott


Botany
Section Chair
Phil Sheridan
8390 Fredericksburg, Tnpk. 
Woodard, Virginia 22580
(804) 633-4336
(804) 633-5056
meadowview@pitherplant.org
2001-2002

Section Secretary
Stewart Ware
Dept. of Biology
College of William & Mary 
Williamsburg, Virginia 23187
(757) 221-2233
2001-2002

Section Council Representative
Marion Lobstein 
1815 N. Roosevelt Street
Arlington, Virginia  22205
(703) 536-7150
(703) 534-5713
mblobstein@earthlink.net

Section Editor
Steve Adams

Section Vice Chair
Jennifer Clevinger
Dept. of Biology MSC 7801
James Madison University
Harrisonburg, Virginia 22807
(540) 568-7816
(540) 568-3333
clevinja@jmu.edu
2001-2002

Section Vice Chair
W. John Hayden 
Dept. of Biology
University of Richmond
Richmond, Virginia 23173
(804) 289-8229/8232
(804) 2898233
jhayden@richmond.edu
2003-2004


Chemistry
Section Chair
Edmund Moses NdlP
Department of Chemistry
Hampton, Virginia

Section Secretary
TBA
Dept. of Chemistry
University of Virginia

Section Council Representative
Roy L. Williams
Dept. of Chemistry
Old Dominion University
Norfolk, Virginia
757-683-4091
757-683-4628
2001-2004


Education
Section Chair
Ken Lawwill
Chantilly High School
4201 Stringfellow Road
Fairfax, Virginia 20151-2600
703-222-8118
Kenneth.lawwill@fcps.edu
2002-2003

Section Secretary
Woody McKenzie
School of Education
Lynchburg College
Lynchburg, Virginia 
434-544-8480
mckenzie@lynchburg.edu
2002-2003

Section Council Representative
Martin Zahn
Thomas Nelson Community College
99 Thomas Nelson Drive
Hampton, Virginia 23670
757-825-2941
757-825-2951
zahnm@tnec.vccs.edu
2001-2003

Section Editor
Alvin M. Pettus
School of Education
James Madison University, MSC 1908
Harrisonburg, Virginia 22801
540-568-3887
540-568-6608
pettusam@jmu.edu
2002-2003


Environmental Sciences
Section Chair
James A. Wise
Dept of Biology
Hampton University
Hampton, Virginia 23668
757-727-5016
james.wise@hamptonu.edu
2002-2003

Section Secretary
Laura J. Hainsworth
Dept. of Chemistry
Emory & Henry University
Emory, Virginia 24327
540-944-6895
ljhainsw@ehc.edu
2002-2003

Section Council Representative
Michael L. Bass
Dept. of Environmental Science & Geology
Mary Washington College
Fredericksburg, Virginia 22401
540-654-1424
mbass@mwc.edu
2000-2003


Section Editor
Patrick F. Scamlon
Dept. of Wildlife science
Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, Virginia 24061
540-231-4586
pscamlon@vt.edu
2002-2003

Section Vice Chair
Claudia Hamblin-Katnik
Dept of Biology
George Mason University
Fairfax, Virginia 22030
703-993-3187
ckatnik@gmu.edu
2002-2003


Geography
Section Chair
Stephen E. Wright, PhD
469 Preston Drive
Harrisonburg, Virginia 22801
(540) 568-6876
wright@jmu.edu
2002-2003

Section Vice Chair
A. Scott Bellows
Dept. of Biological Science
Old Domonion University
Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0266
(757) 683- 3595
(757) 868- 6464
abell008@odu.edu


Medical Sciences
Section Chair
Jason Schechter, Ph.D.
MCV Station
P.O. Box 980613
Richmond, Virginia 23298-0163
804-225-4701
804-828-2117
jbschech@vcu.edu
2002-2003

Section Secretary
Diana Cichewicz
MCV Station
P.O. Box 980613
Richmond, Virginia 23298-0613
804-828-2065
804-828-2117
dcichewi@hsc.vcu.edu
2002-2003

Section Council Representative
Anwar-Saad A. Abd-Elfattah, Ph.D. 
MCV
Sanger Hall 9-016
1101 E. Marshall Street
P.O. Box 980532
Richmond, Virginia 23298-0532
804-828-4975
804-828-5577
anwar@hsc.vcu.edu
2002-2003

Section Editor
Diana Cichewicz, Ph.D.
2002-2003


Natural History and Biodiversity
Section Chair
Jamie Roberts, 
Fisheries and Wildlife
106 Cheatham Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
1 540-231-7241
E-mail:  jhroberts@vt.edu

Secretary
Rachel Alice Mair
Research Specialist
Fisheries and Wildlife
106 Cheatham Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
540-231-7241
E-mail:   rmair@vt.edu

Editor
Jess Walter Jones
Laboratory Specialist
Fisheries and Wildlife
106 Cheatham Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
540-231-7241
E-mail:  jfishman@vt.edu
Home:   606 Broce Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24060

Section Council Representative
Ralph Eckerlin
Natural Science Division, Northern Virginia Community College
8333 Little River Turnpike
Annadale, Virginia 22003
(703) 323- 3234
(703) 323-4250
reckerlin@nv.cc.va.us
2001-2002


Psychology
Section Chair
Perry M. Duncan
Psychology Dept. 
Old Dominion University
Norfolk, Virginia 23508
757-683-4447
pduncan@odu.edu
2002-2003

Section Secretary
Perry M. Duncan

Section Vice Chair
Dr. Teres Scott
Psychology Dept.
Hampton University
Hampton, Virginia
757-727-5040/5301
drtscott@hotmail.com

Section Council Representative
James P. O'Brien
T.C.C. Virginia Beach Campus
jobrien@tcc.vcs.edu
2002-2005

Section Editor
Anthony Macera
218-D Koch Hall
Old Dominion University
Norfolk, Virginia 23529-3154
cmacera@odu.edu
2002-2003

Section Vice Chair
Nancy C. Duncan
Psychology, Hampton University
Hampton, Virginia 23668
727-727-5104
2002-2003



Statistics
Section Chair
Rao Chaganty
Dept. of Math & Statistics
Old Domonion University
Norfolk, Virginia 23529
757-683-3897
757-683-3885
rchagant@odu.edu
2002-2003

Section Secretary
Robert E. Johnson

Section Council Representative
Donald R. Jensen
2000-2003

Section Editor
Steven T. Garren
2002-2003

Section Vice Chair
David Bauer
1001 West Main Street
P.O. Box 843083
804-828-1301
804-828-8785
dfbauer@vcu.edu
2002-2003